“I Have An Attitude (For Service)”

Bob Biswell
3 min readMar 23, 2022
Photo by jon tyson on Unsplash

Do you want to serve?

The Vanishing Act of Service

Have you recently called or visited a service provider in an attempt to have a particular problem or need resolved? Organizations like your doctors office, utility company, or Lord forbid, any type of insurance company, are becoming very unskillful in delivering a minimum standard of good relationship building service.

On numerous occasions, I have literally had to initiate the exchange with the individual behind the counter, register, or drive up window. Upon one recent visit, I heard no “good morning” or “how may I help you” from the individual behind the counter. During one awkward moment, I had to engage a service employee by saying:

Good morning, do you work here”?

One of my pet peeves today is the lack of good service, or not to mention, no service at all, from organizations or individuals that say they’re all about taking care of their customers. Regrettably, I continue to be totally astonished by the attitudes encountered from service staff on the front lines.

Admittedly, after achieving a seasond career in service industries, I may be a little too critical. Afterall, this may be their first job, the pay isn’t the greatest, or they’re just having a bad day. Really?

--

--

Bob Biswell

Influencer of spiritual growth through a personal relationship with Jesus Christ and facilitator of lifelong learning to enhance life's journey.